Speedzone 2014 and earlier archives are here


Current Local Drag Racing Headlines

This home page will be for all the NW drag racing news but mainly BC and Alberta news.

July 8th, 2017

Two big events at Mission Raceway this weekend.

First up is the Les Petrin Memorial Hot Rod race Saturday

Also the BC Super Shifters Stick Shift Nationals

Les Petrin Hot rod race

Randy Kuryk got the win in the final round of the Les Petrin Memorial race on Saturday despite being a tenth back on the tree.


In a very cool final round, two Ford Fairlane's did battle. One from BC (Grant Klohn) and one from Washington State (Jim Gonia) . The Saturday winner was Grant Klohn from Victoria. Both drivers left heads up with Klohn getting a slight holeshot. He extended his lead all the way down track until Gonia lifted when it was apparent he was not going to catch Klohn. Scroll down for photos highlights of what was arguably the Wheelstand Nationals.

Jr. Street winner

Jr Thunder

Out of towners rolled in this weekend for the Jr challenge and two of them were in the final round. Washington's Anastazia Gossette took the win over Alberta's Kyle Skonsberg in the final round of Jr. Thunder.

Jr. Thunder consolation final

Third year racer Willy Oliver defeated rookie Ashton Vonsay in the consolation final of Jr Thunder.

Bike/Sled final

Pro Bracket

Sorry no photo


sorry no photo

Jon Jenkins went back to back winning last week at the Doorwarz Sunday Super Pro final and then winning yesterday's Saturday Super Pro final.

(photo taken from last weeks doowarz)

Super Combo

Photos from Saturday and the Stick Shift Nationals

Jim Gonia and Grant Klohn both went way up in their Fairlanes.

Keith Winterbotten did a double on this run. This one was after he set down at 60 feet.

Rory McNeil and Scott Nation (far lane) did side by side wheelies in this session.

Paul Morgan in the early model Valiant brought em up.


July 1 - 2, 2017

Doorwarz V weekend

Sunday finals


Saturday finals

June 17-18, 2017

Mission Raceway Summit ET Series and other classes final rounds Saturday

Jr Street

Jr Thunder





Super Pro

Hot Rod


Super Combo



June 2-4, 2017

Lordco Auto Parts BC Nationals

Final round results ...presented by Top Eliminator -Edmonton

TAD Final round


TAFC Final round

Low et was a 5.497 not 5.536 and top speed was actually 273.30 both by Annie Whiteley. Also Chris Marshall went 5.503 in round one and Brian Hough went 5.509 in round one.

Comp Final round

Top Dragster Final round

Top Sportsman final round

Super Stock final round

Sorry no Super Stock photo

Stock final round

Super Comp final round

Super Gas final round

Super Street final round

Motorcycle/Sled final round

Super Pro final round

Pro Final round


Saturday Pro Mod final round


May 27 28 MRP results

Sunday final rounds


Saturday final rounds


May 14, 2017 MRP results


Archived pages at SpeedZone Magazine

2016 coverage local results

2015 coverage local results

2014 coverage January-June 2014 . June-December 2014

2013 Coverage (First half of the year 2013. Second Half of the year 2013)

2012 coverage (First half of 2012. Second half of 2012)





Contact SpeedZone

604 826 5775

cell 604 302 3907

Speedzone media and photo services

Thanks to these sponsors

Brent Harris Racing

Stefan Kondolay Memorial page is here

Brent Harris Memorial page is here.


Speedzone built and maintains these web sites

Check out these NW based sites

Web site services are available. Go here for pricing


-SpeedZone Magazine-

Dean Murdoch...Editor

Bob Wilson....National event reporter

Bob Wilson...Special correspondent


Bill Jeffery
Robert Hunter
Bob Snyder
Bob Wilson
Gerry Frechette
Sheryl Ogonoski
Shelby Murdoch
Rich Carlson
Shelby Fedyk
David Smith


Robert Fedyk


Everything on this site is copyright © Speedzone Magazine 2001/2013. All rights reserved. Nothing can be reproduced in any way without written consent of the publisher and/or the individual copyright holders of images and/or text.